Would You?


If I sang you a serande under moonlit skies,
Would you love me then?
If I wrote you poems of sweet devotion,
Would you love me then?
If I bought you red roses by the dozen,
Would you love me then?
If I gave you chocolates that melt the coldest of hearts,
Would you love me then?
If I left presents by your door each morn,
Would you love me then?
If I gave you gifts from distant shores,
Would you love me then?
If I stayed with you until dawns early light,
Would you love me then?
If I told you a thousand times you were beautiful,
Would you love me then?
If I told you a million times I love you,
Would you love me then?
If I climbed a mountain that touched the clouds,
Would you love me then?
If I swam an ocean wide and deeper than your eyes,
Would you love me then?
If I jumped from twenty thousand feet unable to fly,
Would you love me then?
If I walked across arid deserts to be by your side,
Would you love me then?
If I ran a marthon a day to reach you,
Would you love me then?
If I crawled over burning embers and charcoals,
Would you love me then?
If I fought ten men, unarmed, to win your hand,
Would you love me then?
If I waged a war that would ignite your emotions,
Would you love me then?
If I spoke to the Kings and Queens of Nations,
Would you love me then?
If I spoke of the riches I could bestow at your feet,
Would you love me then?
If I chanted your name to the stars of the universe,
Would you love me then?
If I howled at the moon like a lonely wolf,
Would you love me then?
If I cried tears like drops of dew,
Would you love me then?
If I scribed you a book writen in blood,
Would you love me then?
If I bathed you in the milk of fatted cows,
Would you love me then?
If I flew with angels in the heaven that is your heart,
Would you love me then?
If I sold my soul in a bargain with the Devil,
Would you love me then?
If I took a leap of faith into your unknown depths,
Would you love me then?
If I stand by your side for all eternity,
Would you love me then?
If I sit at your feet, enslaved in chains,
Would you love me then?
If I were to leave this mortal coil,
Would you love me then?
If I haunted your dreams and nightmares,
Would you love me then?
If I wandered this earth, trapped in time,
Would you love me then?
If I stole your heart and imprisoned it inside my own,
Would you love me then?
If I bought peace to the world and all men,
Would you love me then?
If I could talk in tongues of my desire,
Would you love me then?
If I drank the wine of blood from your cup,
Would you love me then?
If I was another person and not myself,
Would you love me then?

About Tino

Fighting to save the sanity of a slightly demented forty something, who is fast approaching becoming a more than slightly demented fifty something ;-) View all posts by Tino

3 responses to “Would You?

  • Elizabeth Newton

    I love this poem. It is thought provoking and a little sad but still it toughed me.

  • stingeretta/ friend Bobbie

    I feel you have a lot of ambition in this poem and if you would have to do all that to get the person to love you or if you did all that for the person and still had to ask if they loved you i think they are not worthy of you.
    This would be an excellent song but take out all the questions.
    You have a lot of passion in you and feel too much for your own good….teehee.
    Actually from feeling so much you get to enjoy life more and live intensely whether it is good or sad. Although sometimes it might feel like a curse it is a blessing.

    Just my opinion , of course though.

    thanks for sharing ..very good!

  • becca

    nice tino.really enjoyed it.thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

