Whats on tv tonight? Shite is what, as per usual.


First things first.

My heart goes out to those who are suffering because of the earthquake and tsunami that have hit Japan today. My thoughts are with you and my hopes are yours.

Its been a busy [ish] day. We were late up, well, when I say late, I mean 9am, that’s late for my partner who is usually up around 6am for work. So taking a couple of extra hours in bed is a luxury to her. She still was up and about before me and bought me a cuppa in bed as she normally does. I hate that she has a day of work and she still gets up and makes me a cup of tea. Maybe next time I can beat her to it.

Job of the day for me was to sort out a stack of documents that have been multiplying in my drawer. I have put it off for long enough. So I set about the task and its amazing what one can dispose of. It’s all paperwork, some useful, some compulsory and some utter rubbish. Most things occupy large envelopes and that helps. I write on each envelope what its contents are, but they still end up a mess as more and more documents come through the post.

It took me the best part of 90 minutes to get it all sorted out and I am left with half a rain forest that needs to be shredded as they are personal stuff from banks, doctors and hospitals. A real identity cloners dream if it’s just binned. I have a cross shredder and its well used. I am maybe paranoid about ID theft and do all I can to prevent giving these fuckers a head start. Anyway, I got it all sorted and put away in relative files and envelopes and the drawer looks much tidier, is much lighter and I can find things again. I even came across a tax rebate to the tune of £185 that I had filed in there and forgotten about. How do you forget about a cheque for £185 I hear you ask? Well if you knew me, then you wouldn’t bother asking the question. Part of my ongoing condition is short term memory loss. I ask my partner if she would like a drink. I go to the kitchen and by the time I get there, I have forgotten the reason why. It’s a friggen nightmare! I can remember something from 10 yrs ago, but can’t remember something from 10 minutes ago.

Once that was all done and dusted, it was coffee time. Latte’s all round in tall glasses, delicious. We drank them and were talking about the usual BS that we do and time was drifting by. A phone call and the mother in law was on her way to pay a visit. Always welcome here, we get on great. She is not my real mother in law, I am not married, never have been, but it’s just easier to say it that way. She had bought with her a new scarf and bobble hat that a friend knit for the little one. Lovely pastel colours and I am sure she will love them. A roll of bin liners that are too big for her bin, we seem to go through them like anything, so again, always useful. After some chat, she left and we decided to go out and look at some curtains and fabrics at a newish shop near us. The sitting room was decorated last year, but can we find curtains to finish it off? can we heckers like. There were some promising fabrics all in decent colours and a pair of curtains that are somewhere near close to what we are looking for. £125 a metre is a bit steep though, so I think we will pass on those. But we could get a compromise at £25 a metre. That’s promising. I shall contact them again tomorrow with some measurements and get a price from them and then we can think about it.

We walked home the “long” way, which is good exercise for us both, even though I am so slow. Any exercise is better than none. By the time we got back, it was time to start thinking about some food. I do most of the cooking around here, so we soon had our menu sorted and the oven on. A quick tidy up and we were about ready. A glass of wine to wash it down with and all is good in the world.

We watched a bit of tv, but its all soap operas and I hate them. I tolerated them until dessert, then it was time to log on for the first today. I knew nothing of events in Japan, so reading about that was harrowing to say the least. I have seen some pictures and read about the unfolding of events. I was dumbstruck by it all and still am. Not been 5 minutes since New Zealand was hit. Why do these things always seem to occur just after a new year?

So that’s about my day so far. I have a poker game in 40 mins. A good crowd play on a friday and we have a laugh. We all belong to the same poker forum, who shall remain nameless because of differences of opinion of late. I hope the kiddy fiddler who sometimes shows up is not there, I find it hard to ignore the bastard. If he is there, he is going to get some stick  from me, no worries. After that there is a buy in game at 11pm, or I might just go and play some more DoN games. My partner has work tomorrow, so it’s another early  start for her. She wont be late away to bed, but I will still be up and about until 1-1.30am, then time for bed for me as well. The tv is shite tonight, not even a decent film [movie] on anywhere, so poker will have to suffice.

Until tomorrow, this is uncle Tino saying toodle pip.

 


5 responses to “Whats on tv tonight? Shite is what, as per usual.

  • Elizabeth Newton FANCI

    I don’t watch TV very much as there doesn’t seem to be any thing on that will hold my interest for very long. I do watch American Idol, a copy cat from the BBC but I like music and I love seeing youngsters get a chance to realize their dream. This years cast is really good. Much better than the last years group. My favorite, Casey Abrams is in the hospital again and that saddens me a great deal. He is so talented and I pray that he will get better and be well enough to compete next week. I thought that the show would lose viewers due to Simon’s departure but seems it is moving right along. The two new judges are working out much better than I thought and Randy has proven to be just as good or better than Simon. Randy can be critical with out totally destroying a young contestant. So much for now on my opinion but will watch again next week.

    I play a few poker tournaments each week and I enjoy those. Just got knocked out of a $13 buy in at pokerstars. i was the only player from the USA. 132 entered and all the others were from Norway or Sweden. The chat was Norwegian so I, of course had no idea what they were talking about. If no one speaks English then I always suspect that they are talking about me. Now isn’t that stupid of me.? Why would they do that.?

    Enough now about me. After all it is your blog. Cheers. liz

    • Tino11

      The talent shows here are becoming a joke. Singers/groups are progressin that have no talent, but are curiosity acts. You know that some joker is goin to make the final, all for viewing figures. Its just silly now as it happens every year. Ihave reached the stage where I dont bother with them now. Me and my music are great friends and we look after each other.
      I hope that young man recovers, I hate to see anyone suffer, but especially someone who has talent like that.
      My poker life is down at the crossroads right now and I have a decision to make. Carry on, make some changes, improve my post flop game, or call it a day. I could just continue as I am, thats an option, but not a good one.
      Turn the chat off in instances like that. Not worth paying any attention to it.
      Thanks for bothering to have input, a lot seem to view these blogs, but few comment, so thanks you for that, its appreciated as you know.

    • nodonk4u

      English only on PS – just call the moderator by clicking the chip rack…

      • damgoodgirl76259@yahoo.com

        This game was not a PS game. I was invited to play by Kanland who is a member of PS and lives in Norway. Before the game starts players are told that the chat would be in Norwegian and if you were bothered by that you should leave the game. Thanks.

      • Tino11

        Its not English only on PS at all. Its an international community and the site comes in a few languages. I dont know what you are referring to, but if all players know and understand that chat wont be in English, theres no problem.
        I am sure Liz is not complaining, just making an observation.
        Without knowing the facts, might be wise to refrain from making comments that are not relevant ok.

Leave a Reply

