Sundays? You can keep em.


Sunday again, probably  the worst day of the week for me personally. I have never liked Sundays ever since I was a kid. My old man and mother [bless em] split when I was about 2 [ish] and my dad ended up working abroad for months at a time. One sunday, he was saying his goodbyes and the top 30 chart was playing on the radio, every sunday 4pm until 6pm I think it was. The charts were important back then, not like now. Anyway, I can remember that the radio was playing, I would be 5? and Terry Jacks was #1 with Seasons in the Sun [I still hate that song] and I was in tears because I wouldn’t see my dad for 6 months or something like that. So Sundays have never been a good day for me. Its strange what psychological damage can be done by something like that. Mid forties now and still don’t like Sundays. What makes it even worse, my partner works a daft rota at work and that includes every other weekend, so like today, I am just here alone, trying to amuse my self. So no, you can keep Sundays for me.

So what does the day hold? Well the Six Nations Rugby is in full swing now. England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, France and Italy contest the tournament every year. It was only 5 nations until Italy joined a few years back. I like watching it. Today 2.30pm, England v Scotland play for the Calcutta Cup, which is just a side trophy that’s been around for like forever. England have won their first three games, defeating France, Italy and Wales so the Grand Slam and Triple Crown are up for grabs. If a team wins all 5 games, that’s the Grand Slam, if England beat Ireland, Scotland and Wales, that’s the Triple crown. So with two left to play, its game on and todays game will be a cracker. The passion in anything that involves England and Scotland is amazing. The two countries have fought each other down the centuries and played sporting events and it’s always the same. For the time it takes to play a game, England and Scotland hate each other. So today will be a real battle, but a fair one mostly and England are favourites to win.

Theres also the little matter of the FA Cup going on as well. Yesterday, Manchester United and Bolton Wanderers both won to go into the semi finals. The other two games play today as well. West Ham United take on Stoke City and Manchester City take on Reading. I will watch the rugby and then the highlights of the football later on tonight. I saw Man Utd beat Arsenal yesterday, it was a decent game and a good result for Man Utd. Poor Arsenal, they have gone out of 3 competitions in the last 2 weeks. They got beaten in the Carling Cup by Birmingham City, that was an upset, then they went out of the Champions League to Barcelona and then the FA Cup to Man Utd. I am laughing as I write this as I am not a lover of the Gooners [nickname for Arsenal]. So Arsenal only have the EPL [English Premier League] left to win and they are in second place behind Man Utd.

Theres chores to do before the Rugby starts. The dishes need washing and the dinner preparing, so once I finish here, its into the kitchen I go. I have plenty of time, so no rush. I just hope the pork is defrosted before I roast it. Always seems to take forever to defrost meat. So hopefully, the dinner will be ready once the rugby is finished. If I time it right. I enjoy cooking, so no big deal. Dishes I hate, but they are on of life’s necessary evils.

Hopefully, once the Rugby is finished and dinner, then I will try to catch some of the CC event on Pokerspace. A few friends play [I won it last year, but am giving this one a miss] and its good to rail when I can. Hopefully I will see some decent poker played again. It’s a very unique tournament. Its called the Crew Cup. Each crew has 6 members and for some points, each crew tries to qualify for the finals which will be coming soon. The prize is an all expenses paid trip to Las Vegas to play in the OFC Live event. That went down well last year with 2 players from Pokerspace making the final table of the main event. I can’t explain how it all works, it would take too long. But every Sunday at 6pm GMT the qualifying game takes place where one or two crews will make it to the finals. The final is a four game series played over two weekends. The winners go to Vegas and plays the live event. I have friends who play on different crews and I am pretty sure they have all made the final now. But you can try to block out other crews even after you have qualified. Like I said, it’s a unique tournament that does throw up its fair share of drama. But if you have a group of friends to play with, or just join a random crew like I did last year, then you can play in it. The games can be tough, as you need to play as a team, which in poker is just not done. Collusion is acceptable between crew mates, so it can get tricky. Last year, not only did the MnM’s the damn thing, we also got what is called a clean sweep, which is crew mates finishing first, second and third. It’s easily done and I am pretty sure there are only 4 or 5 crews who have done it so far. My good mate Dave and his crew did it earlier this year, so was well pleased for him, he is a good player and a good poker buddy. So I hope I can watch some of that later on. The game will go on for three maybe four hours, so plenty of time to rail.

So that’s my sunday in a nutshell. Busy, but not, if you get my meaning.

Toodle Pip


About Tino

Fighting to save the sanity of a slightly demented forty something, who is fast approaching becoming a more than slightly demented fifty something ;-) View all posts by Tino

2 responses to “Sundays? You can keep em.

  • To Be A Woman

    I know what you mean about Sundays. But I liked that song, season in the sun, I can see how it could be poignant, for you, sounds like a piercing memory. He was great that ‘ always in the doghouse’ blues singer on Jools too. Anyway, am going to check out more of your posted music video links as I love watching those, am usually looking up Sinead O’Connor, Martha Wainwright, Karen Carpenter, Sandy Denny and so on and so on, Gillian Welsh. But I don’t know how to add links yet.

    • Tino11

      Thanks, glad you liked the songs. Just posted another top ten list that you might enjoy.

      To post links, if you look at the page where you write a new post, you will see the tool bar with the bold letter option, spell check etc etc. Just above that, in faded grey, theres a few little icons, 6 in total. If you scroll over the icons, they tell you what they are. The second icon is the one you want. When that page comes up, you have three choices of how to upload you links. You want the middle link. It says upload from URL, thats the address bar at the top of your browser page.

      If you go to U Tube and see a video you like and would post here, its very simple. In the address bar at the top of your browser, there is an address linked to that video. Right click on the address and select copy. You have the link now. Go back to your blog page and in that URL window, right click and select paste. The window will show the link now. Then hit the add button and it will upload the link into your blog post and when you publish that post, the video will show in the post, not the link.

      If you need anymore help on that, just shout ok.

      Toodle Pip

Leave a Reply

