Damn, it felt good.


In recognition of finding the light again, I have remembered recently what it is to smile again. Not much for most people, of great importance to me.

DAMN, IT FELT GOOD.

You walked into my life through that very door,
I smiled,
and damn it felt good.
We made pancakes that ended up on the kitchen floor,
I smiled,
and damn it felt good.

I wrote a story that made you laugh,
I smiled,
and damn it felt good.
We drank wine by the cheap carafe,
I smiled,
and damn it felt good.

We watched old movies by the open fire,
I smiled,
and damn it felt good.
We kissed a kiss so full of desire,
I smiled,
and damn it felt good.

We walked hand in hand over hills and glens,
I smiled,
and damn it felt good,
Remember you helped me find that contact lens,
I smiled,
and damn it felt it good.

We paddled in a sea so cold our toes turned blue,
I smiled,
and damn it felt good,
You stood and waited in that enormous queue,
I smiled,
and damn it felt good.

We ran for shelter when that thunderstorm broke,
I smiled,
and damn it felt good,
You always giggled at my practical jokes,
I smiled,
and damn it felt good.

We slept together that very first time,
I smiled,
and damn it felt good,
You told me you liked it when I talk in rhyme,
I smiled,
and damn it felt good.

That was all so long ago,
I still smile,
and damn it feels good,
I love you, I am sure you know,
And when I smile,
it still feels damned good!

Now its a daily goal, smile at least once. Its amazing how much better life feels with just a simple smile.

About Tino

Fighting to save the sanity of a slightly demented forty something, who is fast approaching becoming a more than slightly demented fifty something ;-) View all posts by Tino

5 responses to “Damn, it felt good.

  • Elizabeth Newton

    Damn your blogs make me smile and DAMN that feels so good.:)

  • liv2write2day

    Great way to start the day. I think the repetition of the lines is effective in driving home the point and I’m glad you didn’t throw in a sucker punch at the end!

  • Tino11

    Awww, thanks Liz, its good to be able to smile again, its been far too long.

    Hopefully, a smail a day will keep those blues at bay!

    Driving the point home is the purpose I set out to achieve, not smiling when your nature is outgoing and funloving feels like someone took something from me. I am trying to smile again though, and damn, it does feel good!

  • Lindsay G Rocks

    Damn, it was a good read! I like your positivity. Know matter what life throws at us, sometimes we just have to smile

  • Tino11

    Smiling again is, pffft, I dont know, just better than I thought it ever could be.

    I was looking for that poem you posted 10 mins ago and cant find it. I loved it for what its worth.

Leave a Reply

