Kinda blown away really.


This is a kind of Film [movie] Review in its own way. I shall attempt to stick to the point and not wander off at some tangent.

Someone I don’t know posted a blog that via my comment to that, lead to them recommending a film for me to see. It’s not one I would normally pay any attention to, but after watching it, I am lost for words really. It’s hard to get out what I really want to say about it.

I did an online search and found a stream to watch. Good start, imaginative and funny. Unfortunately, about 20-25 mins in, it went haywire and was unwatchable. So I did another search and after a few false starts, found another stream to watch and this one was good. I was about an hour in when the buzzer went and my mate turned up out of the blue, the only “real life” mate who has stuck by me when I needed my friends the most. So paused the film, spent a couple of hours chatting to him over a cuppa or two and then started again. Managed to watch about another 30 mins and the phone rings. End up talking to a University about a sleep study I want to get involved with and made an appointment to see them next Friday.

Back to the film!

I think it was recommended after I said I liked Scotland? The scenery was certainly breathtaking, if you like mountains and coasts and desolate villages. The storyline was credible and the acting, especially from Emily Watson, who I had not heard of before, was amazing. Her facial expressions were funny and yet sad all at once. She was certainly not a full shilling [not of completely sound mind] and that was conveyed brilliantly throughout the film. I read a few reviews beforehand and I thought the film might be too depressing, judging by some of the comments, but it was anything but that. I found it very compelling.

I don’t want to spoil it too much for anyone who might go on from here to view it for themselves.

In the beginning I laughed, it was a happy start and then tragedy struck. The film then concentrates on how different people coped with said tragedy. It was almost like watching a book. The director created chapters that fit together very well and broke the film up into watchable portions that informed about a certain area or person[s]. The ending was emotional on any level and made me cry a little. I am not ashamed to admit to that. Yes, men cry as well sometimes! The little twist at the very end finished off nicely and the final scene was many things, to many people, all rolled into one.

I hope you give it a try if you do read this. I don’t think you will be disappointed, I certainly wasn’t. It does contain some nudity and some swearing, so not suitable for children or anyone who might be offended by that kind of thing. Heres a trailer if you are interested.



About Tino

Fighting to save the sanity of a slightly demented forty something, who is fast approaching becoming a more than slightly demented fifty something ;-) View all posts by Tino

3 responses to “Kinda blown away really.

  • Elizabeth Newton

    Thanks..I’ll check it out. One of the best books that I’ve read recently is The Help by Kathryn Stockert. This book was on the best sellers list for well over a year but is out now in paper back.

    BTW…I am thrilled that your suspension has been lifted at pokerspace.

  • Tino11

    Thanks Liz, I shall check that out of course.

    So I am now able to log back into Pokerspace huh, oh well, all good things must come to an end, lol.

  • Tino11

    Apparently to be made into a film [movie] due for release in August with you over the pond.
    The book? Hmmm, not really my subject area, but neither was Breaking the Waves, so who knows?

Leave a Reply

