The Knock on Effect is Felt.


Due to the recent events over the pond, concerning 3 major players in the world of online poker, the knock on effect is being felt [deliberate pun] on the other networks.

I have been playing, on and off, the DoN SnG games on Players on the Merge network. The regulars are either loose maniacs or tight as a ducks arse nits, with no real in-between. Until recently that is. There seems to have been an influx of players who know nothing of ICM or bubble play and how they shape the game, especially around the bubble. They either don’t know, or don’t care, and will push right back at you when you are 3betting or even, on the odd occasion, 4betting them. It’s ok to be shoving AA if you are opening the betting, but in reality, you  should not be calling a shove in front of you, period, with anything, yes, even AA. The dynamic of the DoN game is totally different to other SnG game. You are aiming to cash, not win!! It’s a simple enough concept. In a regular SnG, you are aiming to win, or should be. the prize pool is split 50/30/20, so the chip values are different to a DoN game, where you aim to cash as all players in the top 5 share the prize equally. To me, its important to understand the difference because it greatly affects your equity etc etc.

As a result, I am having to modify my game again, to try to counter these new players. It’s not easy though, with limited info so far. I am having to look very hard at stats to try to figure out whats going on.  There appears to be a lack of hands going to any kind of showdown, working on any kind of range is hard work. These fellas are not like the regs, they play a more varied game, which is a new challenge and one I will meet and hopefully beat. I have had to tighten up my game again, just as I was trying a looser style, so that experiment is kind of on the back burner for now, while I try not to lose my meagre roll. I had, a few weeks back, doubled up and was looking to step up a level to the $5+.50 buy in games, but I have slipped back somewhat and am trying to grind it back up. I am two tabling now in comfort and might, just might, add a third table in the next few days? but might also wait for that. I want to get up to 4 tables going eventually, without losing the personal touch along the way. I don’t want to be a robot, playing 5% of hands and shoving with KK/AA/AK. That might well be profitable, but I just can’t play like that. I want to be involved and try to make some plays and bluffs and create a table image. I haven’t played enough recently for that to happen, but I do appear to be enjoying playing again, so maybe now I can push on a tad.

Now, I have a load of sessions to update on my HEM so that I can get back to reviewing some of the more marginal hands I play and some of the position play, which I know has been to loose and I am sure the stats will back me up there. There are other small leaks that need some attention as well. I am still folding too often to steals and need to stop that for sure and need to get my 3bet % up a little as well, just to try to balance things up a bit. Only 3betting 4-5% of hands, leaves little room to 3bet some bluffs along the way.

So, its back to the tables as many nights a week as I can manage and back to reviewing sessions and make the required tweaks and adjustments and try to get the show back on the road again.

2 responses to “The Knock on Effect is Felt.

  • Elizabeth Newton

    It is very difficult to make a withdrawal at merge sites. So players really don’t care if they win or lose. They just donk off their chips and that makes it difficult for everyone. IMHO!

  • Tino11

    These seem to be a new group who are looking to play away from the big 3. Merge will still accept them for now and they seem to making the most of it.

    Poker without American players, if thats the way its going to be, is like apple pie without the apples.

Leave a Reply

