Resurrection.


I came forth,
Forced from my amniotic sac,
Resisting my egress,
From the security of the womb,
The umbilical cord cut,
Setting me adrift,
On life’s journey.

Suckling my mother’s breast,
Sustenance, comfort reside,
The milk of life flows,
Greedily,
Feasting until sated, gorged,
Sleep claims my eyes, safe,
In her warm embrace.

Nutured,
Guided,
Instructed,
Encouraged,
By maternal love.

Cherished,
Comforted,
Supported,
Shielded,
By maternal instinct.

As I lie,
Upon this field of despair,
Body ruined,
Of tortured mind,
Thinking of you, Mother,
Remember me,
Reminisce with me,
Do not mourn,
Celebrate,
For we shall meet again,
In resurrection.

This my submission to One Stop Poetry, for their Mother prompt.

http://onestoppoetry.com/

About Tino

Fighting to save the sanity of a slightly demented forty something, who is fast approaching becoming a more than slightly demented fifty something ;-) View all posts by Tino

11 responses to “Resurrection.

Leave a Reply

