Never a Dull Moment


I have a granddaughter I call Tinks [Tinkerbell] and she is hyperactive, just like her dad used to be. She tires me out. Yesterday, we spent the afternoon in the park, playing, watching the animals and playing some more. This poem is my little tribute/account of life as a grandad with Tinks, who I love dearly.

Upon my leg she brusquely tugs,
Grandad,
I want another one of your hugs,
How can I deny,
SO I dispense my reply,
In my arms she nestles so snug.

Upon my knee she doth vigorously ride,
Grandad,
I want another one of your slides,
How can I deny,
So I dispense my reply,
Down my legs she happily glides.

Upon my chest she doth softly lay,
Grandad,
Can we go outside to play?
How can I deny,
So I dispense my reply,
Off we go without further delay.

Upon my shoulder she doth gently nest,
Grandad,
I think I should rest,
How can I deny,
So I dispense my reply,
She’s tired, of that, I attest.

Upon my sofa she doth slyly creep.
Grandad,
I think I should drift off to sleep,
How could I deny,
So I dispensed my reply,
She dozed off with barely a peep.

Upon my bed she doth bound and leap,
Grandad,
You’ve had enough sleep,
It’s a new day,
And I am wanting to play,
So out of my bed I did slowly seep.

Theres never a dull moment its true,
So my recommendation to you,
Enjoy the peace whilst it last’s
Time goes incredibly fast,
But grandkids are worth all that you do.

I am a slide, a horse, a climbing frame, a little boy, a sleeping platform, cook, babysitter, playmate, confidant, ogre, monster slayer, story-teller, Prince, King, maker of silly sounds and faces, joker, hair washer, bath runner, builder of all things, fixer of all things, and most of all, a Grandad!

My submission to One Shot Wednesday.

About Tino

Fighting to save the sanity of a slightly demented forty something, who is fast approaching becoming a more than slightly demented fifty something ;-) View all posts by Tino

7 responses to “Never a Dull Moment

Leave a Reply

