No Choice [Shadorma]


This has come about in a very roundabout way. Its yet another form thats new to me, but one I shall attempt to embrace and do justice.

I was looking for somewhere to post today. I visited Victoria’s blog to see if there was anything that she follows or submits to and found this lttle snippet,

http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2010/12/27/monday-morning-writing-prompt-shardoma/

I immediately thought, hmmm, whats this? Upon reading, I find its yet another form of poetry I know nothing about. So I do some research which led me to One Stop Poetry and this archive and its follow up.  After reading them both, and some other material, it was time to have a go myself, I just can’t resist the challenge 😉

The challenge in part II was to use either one of two poems to then disect and make into a Shadorma. Well, I did, but didn’t do that.  The first poem was an untitled piece from Lovely Annie and seemed to me to be about smoking and the possible repercussions. So I decided to do my own slant on that.

3 years ago I quit smoking. I was hospitalised for 12 days and just thought, if I can go 12 days, then I can go 13, 14, 15, so I did and that was that. Smoke free and all the better for it. So here is my take on that period, using an idea from Annie.

 
Motionless,

Mute contemplation,

Cigarette,

Just one hit,

The craving for toxins strong,

Yet impossible.

 

I think I have it right as far as syllable count goes.

About Tino

Fighting to save the sanity of a slightly demented forty something, who is fast approaching becoming a more than slightly demented fifty something ;-) View all posts by Tino

4 responses to “No Choice [Shadorma]

  • liv2write2day

    Really well-rendered shardoma, Justin. And above all, congrats on quiting smoking. As a hospice nurse I saw all-too-often the tragic consequences of that addiction that is so hard to quit.

    • Tino

      Thanks. I hope you dont mind me keep refering to you, its just that I have learnt so much from you and your blog and it seems you provide a constant source of inspiration, even if not directly.

  • libraryscene

    Bravo for trying out all these new forms…
    AND for quitting. I did years ago, too, (I buried someone who was only 34 to cancer, lung). YOu know what, thou, I crave it something awful when I’m in a rough patch. Do you?
    Very nice, shardoma!

    • Tino

      Sadly yes, I still get the urge when stressed especially. I often think I will have a smoke, then have to remind myself I don’t smoke anymore.

Leave a Reply

