Little King


Sat at the poker table,
The game was no limit, full ring,
She dealt me the ace of spades,
And then the Little King.

One by one they folded,
My heart began to sing,
She dealt me the ace of spades,
And then the Little King.

Suddenly one called ‘I raise’
Out of his seat he rapidly did spring,
She dealt me the ace of spades,
And then the Little King.

I paused, I thought, hello,
Maybe this could be a sting,
She dealt me the ace of spades,
And then the Little King.

I looked at his pile of chips,
And plenty he did bring,
She dealt me the ace of spades,
And then the Little King.

‘About one hundred thousand’ he said,
Maybe this was the real thing?
She dealt me the ace of spades,
And then the Little King.

So in went my stack,
There was no going back,
He turned over two jacks,
My hand was under attack.
The flop hit the board,
A nine, a two and a four,
When the turn was a brick,
I felt suddenly sick,
I still had six outs,
But still there were doubts,
One card left to come,
My legs had gone numb,
Down to the river it went,
Equity was 13 percent!

My goose was now cooked,
But to hope I did cling,
Maybe the river,
Would reveal the king.

We were down to the wire,
I was out on a wing,
There was no saving ace,
And no Little King.

8 responses to “Little King

Leave a Reply

