Samhain Samhain


A little explanation before I start ok.

November [Samhain] is a special month for many reasons as outlined in what you are [hopefully] going to read here.

First of all, Nov 5th here in England is Bonfire Night, or Guy Fawkes night. He tried, unsuccessfully, to blow up the Houses of Parliament in 1605, got caught, was tried for treason and met with a very grisly end. I have added to the nursery rhyme [Remember Remember] my own observation of that night.

Down the centuries, there have been many wars fought between Scotland and England. This heritage is very evident where I live and one of the most important battles for this area was the Battle of Alnwick on Nov 13th 1093. Because of that and Nov 30th being St Andrews Day, I have added Flower of Scotland, written by Roy Williamson of the Corries and is Scotland’s unofficial National Anthem. You will also find, in Gaelic, my own piece in celebration of St Andrews Day.

Lastly, you will see the Ode of Remembrance, taken from Laurence Binyon’s poem’ For the Fallen’. With Nov 11th being Remembrance Day , I thought adding that was very relevant and in memory of all those who have died in wars across the world.

Thrown in there somewhere is Happy Birthday for my Little, Big Sister, who is very small, but older than myself and whom I love dearly.

Cullen Skink is a fish dish from Scotland.

Last and not least, just a great song by a great band to finish, Guns and Roses, November Rain.

This folks, is what November [Samhain] means to me.

Remember Remember [Nursery Rhyme]

Remember remember the fifth of November
Gunpowder, treason and plot.
I see no reason why gunpowder, treason
Should ever be forgot…

Bonfire Night [Tino]

The atramentous night sky,
Undergoes its metamorphosis, as
Pyrotechnics explode in a collage of colour,
A sonorous cacophony assaults my ears,
A paradox of sound and vision.

O flower of Scotland
When will we see your like again
That fought and died for
Your wee bit hill and glen
And stood against him
Proud Edward’s army
And sent him homeward
Tae think again

Happy Birthday [Patty and Mildred J Hill]

Happy Birthday to You,
Happy Birthday to You,
Happy Birthday my little big sister,
Happy Birthday to You.
Many Happy Returns.

The hills are bare now
And autumn leaves lie thick and still
O’er land that is lost now
Which those so dearly held
And stood against him
Proud Edward’s army
And sent him homeward
Tae think again

Cullen Skink [Tino]

Thairiscint mé dhuit a dram bheag,
I cheiliúradh,
Tar cailín Bonny,
dí,
Chun, do shláinte na Naomh Aindrias,
Ith a Cullen Skink,
Comhroinn a chuid aráin,
Bí láidir,
Albain O ‘, a bheith go deo,
Brave.

Those days are passed now
And in the past they must remain
But we can still rise now
And be the nation again
That stood against him
Proud Edward’s army
And sent him homeward
Tae think again.

Ode of Remembrance [ Laurence Binyon]

They went with songs to the battle, they were young.
Straight of limb, true of eyes, steady and aglow.
They were staunch to the end against odds uncounted,
They fell with their faces to the foe.

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning,
We will remember them.

Cullen Skin [translated version,by Tino]

Cullen Skink

I offer thee a wee dram,
In celebration,
Come bonny lass,
Drink,
To, the health of St Andrew,
Eat his Cullen Skink,
Share his bread,
Be strong,
O’ Scotland, be forever,
Brave.

Ingredients for Cullen Skink

Smoked Haddock
Water
1 Onion
1 pint of milk
Mashed Potato
Salt and pepper
25g butter

http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/

 

About Tino

Fighting to save the sanity of a slightly demented forty something, who is fast approaching becoming a more than slightly demented fifty something ;-) View all posts by Tino

4 responses to “Samhain Samhain

  • Ruth

    Great post – I enjoyed the intermingling of November thoughts in these poems. Glad you posted the Gaelic version of your Cullen Skink. Though I only guess at the words, I love the look of it on the page, and the sound when I hear it spoken. Such a beautiful language…

  • liv2write2day

    I’m so glad you included the notes at the beginning. I was vaguely aware of Guy Fawkes and all, but this was enlightening. I enjoyed the weave of history and today. Nice to include your little big sister’s birthday too. Thanks for making me more aware of all that Novemember holds.

  • liv2write2day

    Whoa…I murdered Nov., didn’t I?

  • libraryscene

    Wonderful feast of writing, Tino…thanks for GnR, closed out my cycling (alas inside today bcuz, yes, November rain…) ~

Leave a Reply

