Turn to Stone


 

Over at Poets United, we were offered this prompt, rightfully titled Soul’s Whisper. I have veered away from that which we were asked, but only because I just couldn’t think of anything better.

Sweet child of mine, pray to
your pagan gods of mercy,
do they even hear your words?
then despair, for there
is no absolution here,
only regret.

Sweet child of mine, pay homage
not to dieties of old,
but a new king of the heavens,
unburdened from expectation, of
mere mortal humanoids,
praying for their release.

Our Father

“Stop Child”

Which art in heaven

“Be warned”

Hallowed be thy name

“You do not want to feel my wrath”

Thy will be done in earth

“Enough of this charade”

As it is in heaven

Sweet child of mine, fear me
as you would fear death,
there is no power, or glory,
can defeat me,
dethrone me, nor
escape my ire.

Give us this day our daily bread

“I shall not tolerate this blasphemy child”

And forgive us our trespasses

“You wear my patience”

As we forgive them that trespass against us,

“I will not allow this in my presence”

And lead us not into temptation

“Enough”!

But deliver us from evil

Sweet child of mine, face me
Look into the depths of my eyes,
Do you not see solace there?
Even though you provoke, incite
my annoyance, with
your effrontery

For thine is the kingdom

“This kingdom is MINE”

The power and the glory

“He cannot save you”

For ever and ever

“One look child, you know”

Amen

“I can turn you to stone”

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About Tino

Fighting to save the sanity of a slightly demented forty something, who is fast approaching becoming a more than slightly demented fifty something ;-) View all posts by Tino

7 responses to “Turn to Stone

Leave a Reply

