The Lonely Road


This is my tribute to all those affected by the terrible incidents in Boston, especially for the runners, because I know how it feels to put in the miles, the time and the effort. My heart goes out to everyone who has had to witness this cowardly act. I used to run half marathons and have lost count of how many Great North Runs I have done, the biggest half marathon in the world. So I know what it takes.

The Lonely Road

Tarmac, dark, foreboding,
Submissively listens, with
Expectation,
for the footfalls that will
inevitably arrive,
the runner must coexist alongside
The Lonely Road.

Horizons, twisted by heat haze,
permanent illusions, trickery
Sent to confuse aching muscles,
tired feet,
that continously stride
The Lonely Road.

Hour upon Hour,
Mile upon Mile,
Day upon Day,
the road is my lover,
my enemy,
my brother,
my only companion.

I know this road, intimately!
running shoes make love
to the ebony surface, that
seduces me, beguiles me,
like an addict urgently seeks a fix,
My only requirement being,
The Lonely Road

The Lonely Road is my life,
The Lonely Road is my soul,
Without The Lonely Road
I am nothing,
The road without me is
vacuous, destined,
interminably,to be
The Lonely Road.

Posted for OLN over at dVerse, the poets pub. Its taken a few knocks so we need to show our support for the team there. So try and spare a little of your time to post and read some of the other offerings on show by some very talented poets.

About Tino

Fighting to save the sanity of a slightly demented forty something, who is fast approaching becoming a more than slightly demented fifty something ;-) View all posts by Tino

8 responses to “The Lonely Road

  • gypsyangel

    Such a lonely haunting poem. I felt like I was on that road. I kept thinking of the runners in the marathon yesterday and all that has happened in Boston. I imagine that running must be a love-hate relationship but being too lazy to run myself I can only speculate.

  • pandamoniumcat

    It is a lonely road…you really become aware of the rhythms of your body…I can’t imagine what it must have been like for those runners, such a cowardly act as you say…my heart goes to all the people of Boston and I hope they get those responsible quickly so they can’t hurt anyone else.

  • Beth Winter

    I have seven family members who run marathons. They know that road and oddly enjoy it. I have tried and that road isn’t for me.

    The events at the Boston Marathon have haunted my hours. Perhaps I’m a coward but I had to turn off the news reports, turn off the radio and come to poetry to find some sanity in my life.

  • Victoria C. Slotto

    Justin, what a wonderful metaphor–the lonely road as a relationship to the runner. I appreciate your recognition of the runners who had to have been so terribly affected by the craziness of this act of terrorism and pray for those who prepare to run in London. May all be well. Thank you for your kind comments on my post!

  • apshilling

    Hey Tino

    this is well done imho
    and being a runner myself I really feel both the pain of the tragedy
    and the strength and sense in the metaphor . . . I used to run the white cliffs of Dover daily, early a.m, when I was fighting fulltime and and it used to be bissful but somehow so very sad and I never figured out why . . .

    maybe you solved the riddle tino

    all the best my friend 🙂

  • heidi

    My brother loves to run cross country and 5k’s and this reminds me of him. It is a beautiful write.

    Also I liked your comments on Pretzels and Bullfights yesterday and Victoria’s poem today. I think you would meet a sestina challenge very well.

  • danadampier

    Ultimately we travel our road alone… some may walk with us for awhile, but it is up to us to make it to the end.

  • mindlovemisery

    Nominated you for the Liebster Award 🙂 For details please go to my post
    http://mindlovemisery.wordpress.com/2013/04/23/liebster-award/
    Encase I messed up she nominated me so you can check hers out to be certain lol
    http://abstractorganizedchaos.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/the-liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

