If Music Be The Food Of Love?


Over at liv2write2day’s blog , http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/ there is always a good Monday morning prompt to respond to, this week is no different.

The challenge for today is Sacred Music. Now I am not a religious man in the slightest, but music is a very large part of my life and always has been and always will be. I find that music can heal me when things go wrong in my life. I quit smoking 3 years ago and now, instead of needing a nicotine fix, I reach for a music fix instead. So the phrase/term, Sacred Music means something slightly different to me than to someone else, in the sense that I dont find any music sacred, but I do feel inspired by music sometimes, I laugh at some music, I cry at others, but no matter the genre, I always enjoy music, all the way from Abba to ZZ top and everything inbetween. I find I often write better when I have some music playing on my laptop or the stereo or cd player. I seem to focus easier, so long as its not too loud or top heavy with rhythm, that just destracts me as I cannot help myself from starting to tap out the beat, which turns into a frenzy of finger tapping, tongue and finger clicking abd tooth tapping [which drives my partner demented 😉 ] . I was in a band in my youth [bass player] but sold all my equipment to pay for a trip to Canada many years ago. Since then, I still love music, but dont play anymore.

I think music in itself is healing. It’s an explosive expression of humanity. It’s something we are all touched by. No matter what culture we’re from, everyone loves music.
Billy Joel

I was born with music inside me. Music was one of my parts. Like my ribs, my kidneys, my liver, my heart. Like my blood. It was a force already within me when I arrived on the scene. It was a necessity for me-like food or water.
Ray Charles

If music be the food of love, play on.
William Shakespeare
It was my 16th birthday – my mom and dad gave me my Goya classical guitar that day. I sat down, wrote this song, and I just knew that that was the only thing I could ever really do – write songs and sing them to people.
Stevie Nicks

Music can change the world because it can change people.
Bono

Music doesn’t lie. If there is something to be changed in this world, then it can only happen through music.
Jimi Hendrix

Music is a higher revelation than all wisdom and philosophy.
Ludwig van Beethoven

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.
Plato

Some great music quotes there by some very iconic people. All of which I can relate to very easily.

Music, a most hallowed gift, found not,
Under the radiant Christmas Tree, but in the
Songs of the heart, with passion and verse,
In the recess of my mind,
Chords, lyrics alongside rhythms so diverse.

With a tune, you may find what you seek,
Audible words of intent regale,
Surrounded in hidden mystique.

Music, dance, playful expression,
Youthful intonation.

Frame me a melody, harmonious
Idiom of Rock,
Roll with intrinsic motion,
Sing for me now,
Thrive in musical devotion.

Lustful anthems gyrating the dancefloor,
Oscillating to the cadence, and
Vibrations shaking the foundations, of self
Everybody, c’mon, enjoy the band.

So folks, thats my take on sacred music, or rather  music on the whole, what it can mean and do for us all, if we let it.

Don’t forget, pop in to http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/ and read some peoples poems/stories on the subject and maybe submit one of your own.


6 responses to “If Music Be The Food Of Love?

Leave a comment